Your email updates, powered by FeedBlitz

 
Here are the FeedBlitz email updates for you. Click here to start your FREE subscription



Terralton Abbey from PRELUDE FOR A LORD and more...

Terralton Abbey from PRELUDE FOR A LORD

When I wrote Prelude for a Lord, I admit I put Lord Dommick’s home in there deliberately.

I had visited Newstead Abbey in Nottingham, England, and fell in LOVE, and I knew I wanted to have that house and grounds in my book somehow. So when coming up with Dommick’s character and family, I modeled his family seat, Terralton Abbey, after Newstead Abbey, which was the home of the poet Lord Byron.

This is the front of the house, including the circular driveway that Dommick drives up to. I placed the front door a little differently but essentially Terralton Abbey looks the same.



Here is what the front of the house looked like in 1880:


This is the back of the house with one of its lovely gardens:


Here is the square pool and woody lawn area where Alethea plays with Margaret:



And here is the lovely river bank and grotto where Alethea and Dommick kiss:



Sigh! I wish I could go back there again!

Stay tuned for a big PRELUDE FOR A LORD giveaway sometime in mid to late September! If you’ve already bought the book, there will be lots of cool goodies!
    



A sneak peek at GONE MISSING

I'm working on my romantic suspense manuscript, GONE MISSING, which will be out with Love Inspired Suspense in May next year. Thought I'd post this sneak peek!

The heroine in this story is Joslyn, and this is from the point of view of Clay, the hero.

He looked over at her. She was finally asleep, her head leaning against the window. She looked soft and vulnerable, not like the woman who’d pulled a gun, ready to fire at the two thugs after them and all the Mexican gang members in that parking lot. She’d been scared, but she’d been ready to do what she had to in order to protect them.

If he’d had a normal life and a normal past, he wouldn’t mind getting to know her, all facets of her personality, from her vulnerable side, to the woman with a conceal and carry license, to the woman who had been hurt in her past.

But he didn’t have a normal life—he’d worked for a mob family. He’d done terrible things that he couldn’t undo. He’d gone to prison. He’d even chased away the only person who loved him, his half-sister. He wasn’t someone Joslyn ought to know.

Which was why he hadn’t kissed her, even though everything inside of him wanted to. In everything in his life, he protected people—sometimes the wrong people, like the mob family he’d worked for—but it was what he was best at. And so he knew that in order to protect Joslyn, he had to stay far away from her. There were too many things in his past that would horrify her.

The heroine, Joslyn, is a minor character in my December release, TREACHEROUS INTENT! You can preorder now!
    


New Christian Regency romance from Camy

Yes, you read that right! I have a Christian Regency romantic mystery novel releasing … tomorrow? I think? Called Prelude for a Lord, and I’m writing it under a pen name, Camille Elliot. Neat, huh? Here’s the back cover blurb:

An awkward young woman. A haunted young man. A forbidden instrument. Can the love of music bring them together . . . or will it tear them apart?

Bath, England—1810

At twenty-eight, Alethea Sutherton is past her prime for courtship; but social mores have never been her forté. She might be a lady, but she is first and foremost a musician.

In Regency England, however, the violin is considered an inappropriate instrument for a lady. Ostracized by society for her passion, Alethea practices in secret and waits for her chance to flee to the Continent, where she can play without scandal.

But when a thief’s interest in her violin endangers her and her family, Alethea is determined to discover the enigmatic origins of her instrument . . . with the help of the dark, brooding Lord Dommick.

Scarred by war, Dommick finds solace only in playing his violin. He is persuaded to help Alethea, and discovers an entirely new yearning in his soul.

Alethea finds her reluctant heart drawn to Dommick in the sweetest of duets . . . just as the thief’s desperation builds to a tragic crescendo . . .

"This very enjoyable book will appeal to fans of Jane Austen and Linore Rose Burkard." —CBA Retailers + Resources

Camy here: I’m so excited for this book! I wrote it originally on a dare. My editor at Zondervan, Sue Brower, loves Regency romances as much as I do and we’re always talking about Regencies we’re recently read and enjoyed. So on a trip to visit my publishing house in Michigan, she tells me, “I want you to write a Regency romance for your next book.”

I was apprehensive because even though I’ve been reading Regencies since I was thirteen years old and I even read Regency research books just for fun, I never seriously attempted to write one. So I listened to a bunch of Jane Austen novels on audiobook and then dove in to the writing.

My marketing team at Zondervan chose my pen name: Camille since it’s close to Camy and Elliot because my favorite Austen character is Anne Elliot from Persuasion. They wanted to use a pen name because Regency romance is SO different from my normal genres of contemporary romance and contemporary romantic suspense. We didn’t want any readers feeling confused or betrayed if they picked up a “Camy Tang” book but was surprised that it was historical romance, so we decided to print it under a different name entirely. It’s almost like reinventing myself!

Around mid-August, I’m planning a fantastic giveaway here on my blog! I’ll be giving away not only copies of Prelude for a Lord, but also hand-knitted lace scarves made by Moi. :) The knitting patterns are late-Regency, early-Victorian patterns, so they’re almost authentic to my book’s time period. I’m also include Jane Austen tea ordered from the Jane Austen Centre in Bath, and little violin Christmas ornaments, all in keeping with my book’s storyline and setting.

If you belong to my Camy Tang email newsletter, you’ll be sure to hear when the contest goes live! To sign up, go to http://www.camytang.com/ and look for the purple chair. My new CamilleElliot.com website should be up this week, too!
    



Giveaway - Surprise Box of Christian books

To celebrate the 99 cents sale of our Sealed with a Kiss novella collection, I’ll be giving away THREE Surprise Boxes of Christian Books to three winners! The Surprise boxes will each include non-fiction and fiction, a mix of genres. There’ll be something in there for every taste!

Sealed with a Kiss, 4 novellas by Janet Tronstad, Margaret Daley, Camy Tang, and Lacy Williams now only $0.99 for a limited time! Get yours today! Available on Kindle, Nookbook, Kobo, and iBooks.

To enter the contest:

You must join the Inspy Kisses email newsletter to be eligible for this contest (go to the Inspy Kisses website and look for the form on the right side to sign up for the Inspy Kisses newsletter). Fill out the form below. Be sure to read the rules.

Extra Twitter entries: Get one extra entry per day if you tweet about this giveaway:
Giveaway of Surprise Box of Christian Books! http://is.gd/h7Jq9p @inspykisses
(Be sure to include @inspykisses so we can see your tweet and give you your extra entry.)

Extra Facebook entries: Get one extra entry per day if you share this Facebook post on your own Facebook profile and/or page: https://www.facebook.com/CamyTangAuthor/posts/10152340527732620
(Be sure you share the post at the link above--go to the link and then click "share". Make sure you set the privacy of your share to “public” so we can see that you shared it and give you your extra entry.)



    


Camy's Sonoma fictional family tree

I’m over at the Love Inspired Authors blog talking about a new family I’ve introduced to my Sonoma series, the Whelans, and how they’re connected to the Grant sisters from my first 3 Sonoma books! Click here to read the blog post!
    



More Recent Articles



Click here to safely unsubscribe from "Camy's Loft." Click here to view mailing archives, here to change your preferences, or here to subscribePrivacy