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Advertising - Advertiser FAQs

Learn more about the innovative ad network that helps you monetize your mailing list.

What is the FeedBlitz Advertising Network?

FeedBlitz's email advertising programs enable advertisers to place targeted ads in newsletter updates, and bloggers and newsletter publishers to make money from (or "monetize') their mailing list. It is an entirely self-serve and opt-in solution.

This is the FAQ for advertisers. The FAQ for bloggers and publishers wanting to earn money by allowing ads in their newsletters is here.

You may start building an ad to place in FeedBlitz newsletters here.

Why should I advertise on FeedBlitz?

Advertising on FeedBlitz-powered newsletters works for three main reasons:

  1. Your ads are targeted to opted-in email subscribers, not casual web site visitors, so you're reaching the most committed audience.
  2. Your ads are pushed to readers whenever the newsletter is published; you are not waiting for them to go back to some web site to view your campaign.
  3. You get the best value for your positioning from our auction-based CPM model.

If you use Google AdWords, a really great idea is to copy your AdWords campaigns into FeedBlitz, so your messages are being emphasized in email and online.

Do I need to be a blogger to place ads?

No - you do not have to be using FeedBlitz to publish with or subscribe to. Third party accounts and agencies are welcome.

All you need to place ads in FeedBlitz is to create an account (start here now) and a valid credit card.

What is the minimum fee?

The minimum fee is just $25.00.

Are FeedBlitz ads exclusive or restricted?

No. You can use them in your newsletter with anyone else's ad solution as far as we're concerned. You need to check with your other ad partners as to whether they restrict you from using other networks such as FeedBlitz's. Elements of FeedBlitz's ad network are content based. However, since basically no ad networks run in email, you're safe. Google AdWords is not mail friendly, so it's OK to use FeedBlitz in your email and AdWords on your web site.

What is CPM?

CPM is ad industry jargon for "Cost Per Thousand Impressions." If you are paying a CPM of $1.00 then you are buying one thousand views of your ad for $1.00. Another way to phrase this is that each time an ad is served, it costs one thousandth of the CPM rate, or (for $1.00) $0.001 (or one tenth of a cent). If your CPM is $2.00, then one thousand ad views costs just $2.00

So if you bid FeedBlitz's entry point of $1.00 CPM, and pay just the minimum $25.00 up front, your ad will be seen 25,000 times for that $25.

Since FeedBlitz uses an auction system, if you bid more than $1.00, your CPM varies for each impression. It is always the best CPM rate for your ad given the other ads competing for space in that newsletter. Remember that the rate is per thousand impressions, so if your ad is shown 10 times at a CPM of $1.00, your account will be deducted by $0.01 (one penny). If your CPM is $2.00 then your account will be charged $0.02.

How are FeedBlitz ads priced and charged?

We use an auction-based CPM (cost per thousand impressions) model. Advertisers bid a maximum CPM they are prepare to pay. When multiple ads compete for the same content, they are positioned in bid order, so that the highest bid is at the top.

The auction model kicks in to determine how much an advertiser is charged, which in turn defines how much the publisher of the newsletter is paid. Each advertiser is charged a CPM rate for an impression that is 10c higher than the bid below them for that content, with a minimum charge of $1.00 CPM (i.e. $0.001 per ad).

An example will probably help here! Let's say that three advertisers match for a newsletter. Advertiser A's CPM bid is $5.00, B bids $3.00 and C bids $2.00.

In this example, A will be charged for the impression at a CPM rate of $3.10 (10c more than B's bid). B is charged $2.10, and C (since there are no other matches) is charged the minimum CPM rate, $1.00. The auction approach efficiently delivered the impressions to each advertiser at the best price to them based on all the available bids.

The total CPM for that newsletter - $6.20 in this case - is the number used to calculate the publisher's revenue share. Since the $6.20 value is a CPM (cost per thousand impressions) rate, the total actual charged to the qualifying advertisers in this example is 1/1000 of this value, or $0.0062 (A is chargeed $0.0031, B is charged $0.0021 and C is charged $0.001).

Advertisers are charged (and publishers given revenue share) only when ads are displayed. The subscriber must therefore open the email and have image rendering enabled for the ad to render.

When is my credit card billed?

Your credit card is charged up front by the amount you specify when you set up your first campaign.

Thereafter, FeedBlitz's goal is to continue to serve your ads according to your campaign criteria. If it looks like you're about to run out of money based on recent activity, or your account has only $2.00 left, we'll charge your card. We charge $25, or enough to cover the next 7 days based on recent activity, whichever is the larger (but we will never charge more than your account-wide limit). We will also never charge your credit card for advertising services more than once a day.

You can stop automatic billing after you make your initial payment by going to the "Pay / Bill" area and clicking the "Change Credit Card Information" button.

When is my credit card charged again?

Each day, Feedblitz's ad servers check that you have enough left in your advertiser account to match the needs of your busiest day in the last 7 days. If the amount left in your account isn't enough to cover this, or your account balance is $2.00 or less, we'll bill your credit card to top up your account. This ensures that your card is billed only when your activity requires it, and that there ought to be sufficient funds to keep serving your ads.

So, for example, say on the busiest day in the last week you spent $7.31 on advertising. If you have less than that in your account, FeedBlitz will charge your credit card. If your account balance is less than $2.00, we will also charge your card.

You can stop automatic billing after you make your initial payment by going to the "Pay / Bill" area and clicking the "Change Credit Card Information" button.

How much will be charged?

Once it is determined that your account needs to be topped up, FeedBlitz looks at all your current and planned campaigns, and calculates how much money you would need to serve your ads for them all, again based on the busiest day seen in the last week.

  • If the amount needed is less than your account wide maximum billing setting (or you have not set up a limit), we simply bill the amount necessary.
  • If the amount needed is greater than your account-wide maximum billing setting, we charge the amount you specified to be the most we can charge.
  • If the amount needed is less than $25, we charge $25, as $25 is our minimum advertising charge amount.

So, continuing the example above, if you have just one campaign running, then the next 7 days needs 7 x $7.31 or $51.17 in total. If your maximum billing amount is $30, then FeedBlitz will top up your account with $30. Otherwise, it will charge $51.17 - the amount necessary to cover a week's worth of advertising that matches your busiest recent day.

In all likelihood, not all days will be as busy as your busiest, so the amount we bill will probably last longer than a week. Still, if you feel your card is being charged too many times a month, you can:

  • Raise the minimum and / or the maximum billing amount in your advertising billing settings.
  • Change your campaign settings to reduce the number of impressions (but, ideally, keeping the response rate up).
  • Bid less if you are currently bidding more than the $1.00 CPM minimum.

If you are planning on rapidly ramping up your activity, you can also add money to your advertiser account by forcing a credit card charge at any time from the billing pages.

You can stop automatic billing after you make your initial payment by going to the "Pay / Bill" area and clicking the "Change Credit Card Information" button.

Can I find out about other advertiser bids?

Yes. We have built an open market for email-based advertising, and part of making it efficient is to make it transparent. The advertiser campaign screens show your bid and the highest potentially competing bid from anyone else (we'll get to the potentially part in a moment). The bid information detail page even tells you what the bid above you is, as well as the largest bid. You can then make an informed choice based on your campaign's settings as to whether and by how much you want to change your bid.

The algorithm shows which bids may potentially match yours based on the targeting criteria associated with each campaign (we don't reveal what those criteria are). Whether ads actually do compete for the same impression depends on additional factors, such as the account and campaign budget settings, and (of course) whether a subscriber shows up that matches these criteria.

That's why we also recommend using the campaign tracking performance reports to review your ad's performance and positioning when considering bid changes.

What is the effect of an ad's position?

The worse the position, the less likely your ad is to be read and clicked on.

Most FeedBlitz ad units have slots for four ads. Many bloggers only have one article per newsletter. Therefore, any ad with an average position worse than 4 is going to be shown a lot less. It is also going to be "below the fold" in the second or later article, which may limit its response rate.

FeedBlitz recommends that advertisers strive to keep their ads in position at 4 or better on average. Campaigns that are performing worse than this are highlighted in red on the campaign report page.

What reports are available?

For advertisers, we offer real-time reporting in terms of the # of impressions, click throughs, costs, and effective CPM and CPC data. You can review by day, campaign or ad (so you can easily compare the performance of different ads in the same campaign). Reporting is real-time.

What targeting options are available?

You can choose any, all or none of the following targeting methods:

  1. Channel / Category targeting

    When a publisher signs up to accept ads, they categorize their content. You can target all the blogs in multiple categories (e.g. "health" and / or "Business" and / or "Gadgets") for the widest reach.

  2. Geographical targeting

    We can target to country, city and state with very high accuracy - and, in the US, to the zip code with reasonable accuracy. This lets you select readers that match your content well.

    For example, if you run a local law firm or retail outlet, you might target all the zip codes in your neighborhood or nearby towns. If you are writing in Spanish, you might want to restrict your ads to Spanish-speaking countries and states in the US with large Hispanic populations. If you are selling gifts for a Hindu holiday, you might want to target India alone.

  3. Keyword targeting

    You can pick keywords to match against. This is both the most restrictive and the highest risk strategy to use, since you may miss some subscribers who might be otherwise receptive to your message.

    Keyword targeting does not look at the text in the current article. Instead, we look at all the recent content from the publisher. This is because bloggers in particular tend to hew to a small number of themes over time, but individual articles may vary considerably. Subscribers know this - otherwise they wouldn't be subscribing.

    Given the nature of pushing ads to subscribers, an ad that was relevant to a subscriber yesterday will still be relevant today, even if today's topic isn't the same as yesterday's.

What other campaign features are there?

Date restrictions: Time your campaigns to only show from a given date, up to a given date, between two dates, or perpetually.

Budget restrictions: Limit how much you want to spend on any given campaign per day.

Multiple ads: You can have multiple ads associated with a single campaign, but only one ad from a campaign will appear in each subscriber's inbox. You can weight the campaigns to show some more often than others, in order to perform A/B testing.

How do I build a "run of network" campaign?

Simply don't pick any targeting criteria, in which case any article will match.

Does FeedBlitz recommend targeting strategies?


For local and community advertisers, who want to reach their local customers, pick the right geographic locations (in the US pick neighboring ZIPs to ensure all your audience is reached). Don't limit by channel or keyword.

For advertisers wanting to reach a certain class of subscriber, so say for example you are interested in consumers of fast moving consumer goods, then use multiple channel / category restrictions, and (if appropriate) country / state geographical restrictions.

We recommend going to keyword matches only if the prior two approaches seem to be performing poorly (i.e. too many impressions without enough responses). Keyword matches will also work best for bloggers wanting to advertise subscriptions to their blogs.

Can I stop ads from being run in inappropriate content?

Yes - you can pick the channels you don't want your ads to appear in. Adult publications are excluded by default.